Home > Tourism

Le Grand Hôtel de Tours

Castle of Langeais


The Castle of Langeais is located in the Centre Val de Loire region, on the border between Anjou and Touraine. The Castle of Langeais presents two exceptional châteaux: the Foulques Nerra Tower and the Château of Louis XI. The former has the particularity of being the oldest keep in France whereas the latter has two different facades - feudal on the town side and Renaissance-inspired on the courtyard side.


Around the year 1000, Touraine was coveted by two powerful local lords: the Count of Anjou, Foulque Nerra, and the Count of Blois, Eudes I. At the end of the 10th century, Foulques Nerra conquered the site of Langeais, not far from Tours, and established a castle on the promontory. All that remains of it now are a few traces of the keep. For the next four decades, Langeais went through troubled times, occupied turn and turn about by the successive Counts of Blois and Anjou. Finally, in 1044, along with the rest of Touraine, it fell into the hands of the Plantagenets and then of their descendants who were the Kings of England. It was not until 1206 that Langeais became part of the French realm, after the victories of Philippe Auguste (King Philippe II) over England’s King John. Thereafter, its possession was conferred on various great lords close to the French court.



Opening times:

The castle is open every day of the year.

01 - 31 january : 10:00 a.m to 5:00 p.m

01 february - 31 march : 9:30 a.m to 5:30 p.m

01 april - 30 june : 9:30 a.m to 6:30 p.m

01 july - 31 august : 9:00 a.m to 7:00 p.m

01 september – 11 november : 9:30 a.m to 6:30 p.m

12 november - 31 december :10:00 a.m to 5:00 p.m


Adult: 9 €

Young 18 - 25 years old: 7,50 €

Child 10 - 17 years old : 5 €

Location :

Place Pierre de Brosse

37130 Langeais


You like it ?

Share on social networks

Le Grand Hôtel de Tours - Tours